Posted by: r.m. | March 3, 2009

Ecology Class

In replying to the question ‘what was the most interesting bit of information you learned in ecology [class],’ a student wrote the following:

“The most interesting bit of information that I learnt from this course is that on an individual level, I can impact my environment both negatively and positively. What also remains with me is that I discovered that I ‘emit’ huge amounts of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere and if all Lebanese people were like me, I’m sure the ecosystem would collapse in a short time. That is why my friends from university and I are sticking to car pooling in order to reduce carbon dioxide emissions from our cars. What’s more is that the small bit of information that we should eat lower on the trophic level and what positive implications it has on the environment is leading me to becoming a vegetarian and I am serious about that.”

🙂


Responses

  1. because you are inspirational. because you are amazing. because your students are so lucky to have you as their teacher.

  2. Actually, i think that we are going to learn a lot from this course due to the way of teaching and since it is an interactive class. it encounters the daily problems that we face, and reflects the world we live in

  3. If you could turn someone into a vegetarian, I am sure we will learn a lot this semester. I have already changed my views about a lot of issues.


Leave a Reply

Categories

