Posted by: r.m. | March 12, 2009

losing the Amazon…possibly sooner

I listened to the first 4 chapters of ‘The World Without Us’ on my early morning drive to work today, and, as I was envisioning the trees and forests taking over and recolonizing our cities, I find this news piece in the UK Guardian.
Amazon could shrink by 85% due to climate change, scientists say

• Scientists say 4C rise would kill 85% of the Amazon rainforest
• Even modest temperature rise would see 20-40% loss within 100 years

I read the UK Independent, and find this article:

Fate of the rainforest is ‘irreversible’: A third of the Amazonian ‘carbon sink’ is doomed whether or not emissions are cut, Copenhagen conference is told

Responses

  1. […] and the prediction by some scientists that climate change makes the attempts to save the existing rainforests a labour of […]

  2. […] and the prediction by some scientists that climate change makes the attempts to save the existing rainforests a labour of […]

  3. visit http://bit.ly/3IAahQ to help save the rainforest!

  4. I believe that studies implying that some present changes are irreversible should not be published. They give politicians another excuse not to act.
    I hope that the computer models are underestimating nature’s capacity to adapt, just like the carbon emission models underestimated the capacity of carbon sinks.
    The article says that trees will grow in Siberia. Is this a result of global warming making conditions at higher altitudes less harsh?
    Beside global warming, the loss of forests causes drought. However, I don’t understand why this drought is local and why its effects don’t spread worldwide.
    I also don’t understand how negative changes will appear first in the Amazon while positive changes will not appear there until long after they are implemented.

  5. There is no denying the fact that purchasing a car can be
    a nerve-wracking, stress-filled experience. Before you make a decision and
    spend a great amount of money on a vehicle, it pays to
    acquire a bit of knowledge on the subject.
    Keep the tips that follow close at hand, and you will have what it takes
    to make an optimal decision.

  6. Great website. Plenty of helpful info here. I am sending it to some buddies ans also sharing in delicious.
    And naturally, thanks on your sweat!

  7. I blog frequently and I seriously thank you for your content.
    This great article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your site and keep checking for new details about once per week.
    I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  8. I do not even understand how I ended up here, but I believed this submit
    was good. I don’t recognize who you are however certainly you are going to a famous blogger should you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  9. Your style is unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess
    I’ll just bookmark this web site.

  10. I am sure this article has touched all the internet visitors, its really really pleasant piece of writing on building
    up new website.

  11. Aw, this was an exceptionally nice post. Finding the time and actual effort
    to generate a very good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and never manage to
    get nearly anything done.


Leave a Reply

Categories

