Posted by: r.m. | April 8, 2009

“Participatory Assessment of Environment and Security issues in the Southern Mediterranean Region” …- hmm..

I’ve been meaning to share with you all what I was doing in Barcelona (other than eating chocolate!): participating in the “Participatory Assessment of Environment and Security issues in the Southern Mediterranean Region” – organized by the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE)

Here is the agenda of the workshop – for the curious among you.1-draft-agenda-workshop-medsec-190309

Here’s the paper I submitted – on water in Lebanon. (lebanon-is-thirsty1)

I was also asked to present a keynote talk (20 -30 minutes) on environmental and security challenges in the Mashreq. Here is a copy of my talk (plenary-session-i-ms-rania-masri) (To simplify the talk – two main security challenges that significantly impact the environment in the region were discussed/highlighted: (1) military occupation and war; and (2) neoliberal economic agenda.) At the end of my talk, the moderator looked at me and said, “well, thank you for that politically incorrect presentation.” hmm… that’s what it is called these days? political incorrection?😉

Please let me know if you use the material provided in any way, and also let me know if you’d like any of the presentations listed in the agenda.

I hope to write more about that workshop  – there is much to say.


Leave a Reply

Categories

