Posted by: r.m. | April 18, 2012

Qana

Qana 1996. The first massacre in Qana. The second in 2006. Both by Israel, with US funding and protection, and UN impotence.

Qana. April 18, 1996. 

Qana. 800 people had sought refuge in a UN compound, refuge from Israelli Terrorist Forces (otherwise known as IDF), refuge from the bomardment. Israeli forces, knowing the impotence of the UN, knowing the indifference of the so-called international community, resting on the support of the US, attacked the compound.  Israeli forces killed 106 men, women, and children, and injured more than 116.  Four UNIFIL soldiers were also injured.

 Robert Fisk wrote

 “It was a massacre. Not since Sabra and Chatila had I seen the innocent slaughtered like this. The Lebanese refugee women and children and men lay in heaps, their hands or arms or legs missing, beheaded or disembowelled. There were well over a hundred of them. A baby lay without a head. The Israeli shells had scythed through them as they lay in the United Nations shelter, believing that they were safe under the world’s protection.

That was the first Qana massacre.

Israel committed a second Qana massacre in 2006.

Robert Fisk again wrote about the second massacre

Qana again. AGAIN! I write in my notebook. Ten years ago, I was in the little hill village in southern Lebanon when the Israeli army fired artillery shells into the UN compound and killed 106 Lebanese, more than half of them children. Most died of amputation wounds – the shells exploded in the air – and now today I am heading south again to look at the latest Qana massacre.

Qana again.

We remember Qana 1996 and Qana 2006. http://qana.blogspot.com/

We remember.

I remember Qana 1996. I was doing my doctorate at NCSU. My mom called me at my office to tell me news of the massacre.  My body felt crippled from the shock.  Weeks later, I started to see color again.  Weeks later, I realized that I had stopped seeing color – the world had become grey, literally.

We remember.

Israel can destroy, can kill, can maim. With the assistance of the so-called international community. With the funding of the US. With the complicity of the GCC. They all can.

But Israel was not able to conquer in 2006, was not able to occupy.

The strength of the people in 2006, even a divided people in Lebanon, was stronger than Israeli machinery and Israeli hate.

The strength of the people in Palestine shall also be stronger.


Leave a Reply

Categories

