Posted by: r.m. | April 29, 2012

conversation 1: you don’t look Lebanese

The following is a transcript between a female stranger and me in Egypt

Female Egyptian Stranger: (after I spoke to her in Arabic, in my Lebanese accent): You’re not Egyptian, right?

Me: Correct, I’m not.

Her: Are you Moroccan?

Me: No, I’m Lebanese.

Her: But you don’t look Lebanese.

Me: Well, I am Lebanese, and I do look like other women in my family.

Her: Well, you’re not from Beirut.

Me: Actually, I live there.  But, let me ask you: why do you say I don’t look Lebanese. I have been told that I don’t look Lebanese for months now in Egypt.

Her: Well, you don’t look like you’ve had plastic surgery.

[!!]

Me: Yes, I haven’t made my nose smaller or my lips bigger.

Her: I have. I had a nose operation

===

[next: i have to figure out why I’m commonly thought of as being from Morocco]

===

For accuracy: I have gotten the same comment on a weekly basis in Lebanon for years. Conversations there are like this one, which happened in Hamra (Beirut), and note that these conversations are in Arabic – both of us speaking in a Lebanese accent, with my accent arguably stronger:

female stranger: You’re not Lebanese. [said in a statement, not a question]

me: Yes, I am Lebanese

female stranger: Really? Both your mom and dad are Lebanese?

me: Yes, both my parents are Lebanese, and I can trace my family back 700 years to this region. Yes, I am Lebanese. Would you like to see my family tree? my ID?

female stranger: well, you don’t look Lebanese.

— Those comments I only get in Beirut – whether in Hamra or Achrafieh – and never elsewhere in Lebanon where the image of what a Lebanese looks like is not so narrow: i.e. not defined by plastic surgery, straightened hair, heavy make-up, or who knows what

Responses

  1. hmm that’s just a stupid stereotype!

  2. Perhaps it’s because of your Bahraini accent…

  3. Excellent Working Dear Friend Nice Information Share all over the world.God Bless You..
    cheap bicycle shops london
    olympic station cycles


Leave a Reply

Categories

